Tag: Daan Bantayan

Places in North of Cebu City

by on Nov.17, 2010, under Cebu, Information, Places, Sightseeing Spots, Visayas

Cebu’s northeast has the most heavily developed coastline on the island. The biggest metropolises are Danao, one of Cebu’s bigger cities and Bogo, the main market town in the northern Cebu.
Danao City is a 3rd class city in the province of Cebu. It is well known as for its gun industry.
Its centerpiece, directly opposite the pier and visible far out to sea, is one of the finest church building in Cebu. The gracious, coral stone St. Tomas de Villanueva Church was built in 1755 and restored from near ruin in 1981.The austerely beautiful marble interior with its high, white, vaulted ceiling is worth a look. The backs onto a scenic mountain range which includes the Danasan Plateau, one of the few place on the island from where you can view both sides of the channel.
Information in Sleeping and Eating in the place of Danao
Elsalvador Beach Resort this resort was in the main road at the southern end of the town.
This is the best place to stay. Motel style rooms are comfy enough but the main attraction is the large grounds with two pools big and little and a fake white sand beach.
Intosan Resort is a short tricycle ride from the town. Basic rooms are good value, with double bed, cable TV, hot water and a small balcony.
Bread and supplies can be brought at all old market on Rizal Street, two blocks up from and parallel to the highway.


Sogod is a 4th class municipality in the province of Cebu. Sogod is politically subdivided into 18 barangay which are; Ampongol, Bagakay, Bagatayam, Bawo, Cabalawan, Cabangahan, Calumboyan, Dakti, Damolog, Ibabao, Liki, Lubo, Mohon, Nahus-an, Poblacion, Tabunok, Takay, Pansoy. The gently curving coastline of Sogod is about 70 km north of Cebu City. It is a quite town with attractive beaches where outskirts of town you’ll find the Vima Beach Resort which rents a picnic shelter along a pleasant palm-shaded stretch of white sand.
About 5km north of Sogod is the 5-star Alegre Beach Resort the place that put Sogod on the international tourist map. This resort is high-end and high security. The leafy grounds include a huge swimming pool, a dive center, a library, a putting green and a tennis court. The resort fronts a spectacular, private beach cove with a house reef.

Bogo is a municipality in the northern part of the province of Cebu.
Bogo is politically subdivided into 29 barangays; Cogon, Anonang Norte, Anonang Sur, Banban, Binabag, Bungtod, Carbon, Cayang, Dakit, Don Pedro Rodriguez, Gairan, Guadalupe, La Paz, La Purisima Concepcion, Libertad, Sentral Mindanoa, Malingin, Marangong, Nailon, Odlot, Pandan, Polambato, Sambag, San Vicente, Santo Niño, Santo Rosario, Siocon, Taytayan, Sudlon. The plebiscite for the city hood of Bogo was held on June 16 2007.
Bogo Pension House is on a residential street a five minute trip from the bus terminal, this is quite and unassuming business hotel has cheerful rooms, and swimming pool and spa, bar and restaurant.
Nailon Beach Resort is  just to the east of Bogo proper, this a friendly native style place sits at the end of a prominent point and has a comfy rooms with balcony, cable TV and hot water bathroom.

Daan Bantayan
Daan Bantayan is a 1st class municipality in the province of Cebu. Every year Daan Bantayan celebrates the Kandaya Festival which is honor of Datu Daya, the legendary founder of the town. The name Daanbantayan was derived from two words: the word Daan which means old in the Cebuano and the word Bantayan which refers to a place that served as a look out station for Moro raiders before the Spaniards obtained control. In 1942, the Japanese Imperial forces occupied in the town of Daan Bantayan, Cebu. In 1945, the Philippine Commonwealth Army troops of the 81st, 82nd and 83rd Infantry Division entered the town of Daan Bantayan, supported by the Cebuano guerrillas and were attacked by the Japanese forces in the Battle of Daan Bantayan during the World War II. Daan Bantayan is administrative subdivided into 20 barangays; Agujo, Bagay, Bakhawan, Bateria, Bitoon, Calape, Carnaza, Dalingding, Lanao, Logon, Malbago, Malingin, Maya, Pajo, Paypay, Poblacion, Talisay, Tapilon, Tinubdan, Tominjao.

Leave a Comment :, , , more...